🔍 Read the full analysis: How Might OpenAI’s Tighter Rules Affect Your AI Subscription? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI has added limits on paid subscriptions associated with a device or payment card and says Plus, Pro and Business users will share an allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December 2026. The changes do not mean every ChatGPT conversation will be metered: OpenAI says unlimited Instant chats remain outside the shared allowance. The limits’ exact thresholds and their effect on individual users are not public.
OpenAI is tightening how paid ChatGPT subscriptions are used, adding limits on accounts linked to a device or payment card and planning to combine ChatGPT and Codex usage into one allowance from December. The changes affect how subscribers may share accounts and divide usage across products, although OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds for the device and card limits.
OpenAI’s help center says its limits apply to paid Go, Plus and Pro plans, including three Pro tiers. The company says it may limit how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased using one payment card or device. The article describing the rules does not provide a specific account or purchase cap, leaving users without a public number to check against their own arrangements.
Separately, OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will draw on a shared allowance for ChatGPT and Codex beginning in December. The allowance is measured in tokens, rather than being a separate pool for each product, according to the company’s help information. OpenAI says unlimited chats with its Instant model will remain outside that meter. The announcement therefore describes a shift in how some higher-cost use is allocated, not an end to all flat-price access.
The changes followed a late-October increase to some high-tier allowances. OpenAI release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction to Pro 200 was cancelled. A post by Thibault Sottiaux, who works on Codex and ChatGPT, described a broader doubling of limits across Pro tiers and Business Premium; the release notes provide the more specific account of which allowances changed. The sequence shows that account controls and usage increases can happen at the same time.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
For subscribers, the practical effect depends on what they use and how they use it. Someone who mainly asks short questions using the Instant model may be less affected by the shared token allowance, given OpenAI’s stated exclusion. A user who relies on Codex or more demanding models could use a larger share of the combined pool and have less available for the other product. OpenAI has not disclosed enough detail to estimate that effect for a typical account.
The account-sharing rules could also matter to households, teams or people managing multiple subscriptions. Since the company has not stated the cap or explained in detail how it will treat shared devices, users cannot yet tell whether ordinary multi-person use will be affected. Subscribers should avoid assuming either that sharing is unrestricted or that a particular household will be blocked.
The broader business issue is that a monthly subscription does not make every AI task cost the provider the same amount. The supplied source says OpenAI’s rate card assigns its most capable model an output-token allowance cost about 100 times faster than its cheapest model. That comparison is specific to the cited rate card and output tokens; it does not establish how quickly any individual customer will reach a limit. Longer tasks and agents that work through multiple steps can also consume more resources than a short chat reply.
Products Worth Considering

Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (2026) with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD, Silver

Canon PIXMA TR160 Wireless Portable Color Inkjet Printer

Dell XPS 13 9350 Copilot+ Laptop, 13.4-inch 120Hz Display, Intel Core Ultra 7 256V, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, Ubuntu Linux 24.04 LTS
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Flat Fees to Usage Pools
The changes come amid debate over the economics of AI subscriptions and agents. In January 2025, OpenAI chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on its $200-a-month Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That was Altman’s account of the economics at the time, not a current financial disclosure.
On Nov. 1, 2026, Elon Musk responded to a user asking about a Grok Bot usage reset by writing: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The exchange concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s task-oriented agent, rather than Grok chat generally. The user had said people were running out of usage quickly, but Musk provided no cost or revenue figures and did not announce a new limit, reset, or price change.
The examples point to a distinction between a fixed subscription price and a fixed amount of use. A provider can retain monthly plans while applying product-specific allowances or shared meters. The source also says xAI measures Grok Bot usage by agent steps and tokens, with consumption varying according to the task. That comparison is useful context, but xAI’s plans and rules should not be treated as OpenAI policy.
““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””
— Elon Musk, in a Nov. 1, 2026 reply on X about Grok Bot
Caps and Individual Usage Still Unclear
OpenAI has not published the numerical device and payment-card caps in the source material, or a detailed explanation of how it will determine when too many accounts are associated with one device. It is also unclear how the company will handle shared devices used by a family or workplace. Those details matter for determining who will encounter a restriction and when.
The shared allowance is scheduled to begin in December, but the available information does not specify its size, how quickly different models and tasks will draw it down, or what happens after a subscriber reaches it. OpenAI says unlimited Instant chats remain outside the meter, but that does not answer every question about access to other models or Codex at the limit.
Musk’s post is similarly limited: it offers no figures and does not confirm a Grok Bot reset, a specific usage reduction, or a price change. Reports described a separate post by Grok’s official account about adjusted allocations and a dashboard fault, but the source says it could not independently locate that post. Those details should be treated as reported, not confirmed.
Watch for December Allowance Details
The next stated milestone is December 2026, when OpenAI says the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance will take effect for Plus, Pro and Business. Subscribers can check OpenAI’s help center and their account’s usage information for implementation details, including any clarification of caps, model coverage and what happens when an allowance is used up.
Until OpenAI publishes those details, users should not infer an individual limit from the headline announcements or assume that a higher plan will provide a particular amount of use. Businesses reviewing subscriptions may want to ask vendors for written information about included allowances, how work across products is counted, and the cost or access terms after a limit is reached. No further OpenAI change or specific customer impact is confirmed in the supplied material.
Key Questions
Will ChatGPT subscribers lose unlimited access?
Not across the board, based on the information available. OpenAI says unlimited Instant chats will remain outside the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance. The source does not establish that every model or product feature is unlimited.
When does the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance start?
OpenAI says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans begins in December 2026. The supplied information does not give a specific date in December.
How many paid accounts can use one device or card?
OpenAI’s help center says limits apply, but the source does not provide a numerical cap. The exact threshold and how it will apply to shared devices remain unclear.
Did Elon Musk announce a Grok Bot limit change?
No specific change was announced in the quoted post. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but did not provide figures or confirm a reset, new limit, or price change.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
