AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get smart everyday buys delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Visa and Mastercard agreed to a $167.5 million settlement resolving allegations about ATM network rules, while denying wrongdoing. People who paid an unreimbursed surcharge at an eligible independent U.S. ATM from Oct. 24, 2007, through Aug. 14, 2026, may file a claim by Feb. 10, 2027; individual payment amounts are not yet known.

Visa and Mastercard have agreed to a $167.5 million settlement over a class-action lawsuit alleging their ATM network rules led consumers to pay higher surcharges, and claims are now open. Customers who paid an unreimbursed fee at an eligible independent ATM during the period from Oct. 24, 2007, to Aug. 14, 2026, may qualify, but they must submit a claim by Feb. 10, 2027. The companies deny wrongdoing.

According to the settlement terms described in the report, eligibility generally covers consumers who used an ATM or PIN-debit card to withdraw money from a deposit account at an independent ATM in the United States or its territories. The fee must not have been fully reimbursed by the consumer’s bank. Independent machines are not owned by a bank or other financial institution and can be found at businesses such as convenience stores, gas stations, grocery stores and bars.

Credit-card cash advances and prepaid-card transactions are excluded, according to the settlement information. The settlement website says a claim can be submitted online and asks for contact details and an estimate of the number of qualifying transactions. Claimants do not have to provide supporting documents with the initial filing, although the administrator may later request bank statements or other records. Claims are made under penalty of perjury, so applicants should provide information they believe is accurate.

The $167.5 million is the total settlement fund, not a set payment per person. The available amount for claimants will depend on the number of valid claims and qualifying transactions, as well as deductions for attorneys’ fees and expenses, administration costs, taxes and service awards for class representatives. The source material does not state an individual payment estimate.

At a glance
updateWhen: Claims are open; key deadlines run from…
The developmentClaims opened under a $167.5 million Visa and Mastercard ATM-fee settlement, with eligible consumers required to file by Feb. 10, 2027.

How ATM Customers Could Be Affected

The settlement offers a potential payment to consumers who paid eligible ATM surcharges over a period spanning nearly 19 years. For people who used independent ATMs regularly and were not reimbursed by their banks, checking eligibility and filing before the deadline could matter; however, no individual payout is guaranteed or specified.

The case also concerns how payment networks set rules for transactions at independent ATMs. Plaintiffs alleged those rules limited operators’ ability to route transactions over less expensive competing networks and pass lower costs on to customers. That is an allegation resolved through a proposed settlement, not a court finding that Visa or Mastercard violated antitrust law. The companies’ denial of wrongdoing remains part of the record.

Amazon

ATM fee reimbursement card holder

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The ATM Network Rules at Issue

The lawsuit focused on rules governing which networks could process ATM transactions and what fees independent operators could charge. Plaintiffs argued that Visa and Mastercard prevented operators from charging lower fees when a transaction could be processed through a less expensive competing network, contributing to higher consumer surcharges. Visa and Mastercard deny the allegations and agreed to settle the claims.

The agreement still has a court approval process. The settlement’s key dates listed in the source are Dec. 11, 2026, for objections or exclusion requests; Feb. 10, 2027, for claims; and a final approval hearing scheduled for Feb. 17, 2027, at 4 p.m. ET. These dates and the terms described here are based on the supplied report and settlement information.

“The companies deny wrongdoing but agreed to the settlement.”

— Visa and Mastercard, as described in the report

Amazon

independent ATM surcharge refund

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Payouts Await Claims and Court Review

The amount any claimant might receive is not yet clear. It will depend on the number of valid claims, the qualifying transactions and expenses paid from the settlement fund. The supplied material does not give a minimum or average payment.

The court has not yet held the scheduled final approval hearing, and the agreement’s final status depends on court approval. If the settlement is approved, appeals could delay distribution. It is also not stated how many consumers may qualify or how many claims will be filed. The administrator may ask some claimants for records after they submit their forms.

Amazon

ATM fee dispute resolution kit

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Deadlines Before Payment Distribution

Consumers who want to object to the settlement or exclude themselves must act by Dec. 11, 2026, according to the supplied information. Exclusion preserves the possibility of bringing a separate lawsuit over the covered claims but means the person will not receive a settlement payment. Claims must be submitted by Feb. 10, 2027; mailed forms must arrive by that date.

The court is scheduled to consider final approval on Feb. 17, 2027, at 4 p.m. ET. The claims administrator expects payments within six months of final approval if there are no appeals, according to the settlement website as reported by Kiplinger. If appeals are filed, payments are expected to wait until those proceedings are resolved. Claimants should check the official settlement website for current instructions and updates.

Amazon

ATM withdrawal fee recovery

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

Who may qualify for the ATM settlement?

Consumers who paid an unreimbursed surcharge to withdraw money from a deposit account at an independent ATM in the United States or its territories between Oct. 24, 2007, and Aug. 14, 2026, may qualify. The withdrawal must have used an ATM or PIN-debit card.

Are credit-card cash advances or prepaid cards included?

No. The supplied settlement information says credit-card cash advances and prepaid-card transactions are excluded.

How much will eligible consumers receive?

The amount is not yet known. Payments will depend on the number of valid claims and qualifying transactions, with settlement funds also covering specified costs and fees. The $167.5 million is the total fund, not an individual award.

What is the deadline to file a claim?

Claims must be submitted by Feb. 10, 2027. According to the report, mailed claims must arrive by the deadline.

When could settlement payments be sent?

The administrator expects payments within six months of final approval if no appeals are filed. The scheduled approval hearing is Feb. 17, 2027; appeals could delay payment until they are resolved.

Source: rss

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

How To Ensure FERPA Compliance In Student Counseling Software

Guidelines and strategies for schools to ensure FERPA compliance when implementing student counseling software, focusing on data security and privacy.

GPGI, CMPO Investors Have Opportunity To Lead GPGI, Inc. F/k/a CompoSecure, Inc. Securities Fraud Lawsuit

Investors in GPGI and CMPO have the opportunity to take a leadership role in the restructuring of GPGI, Inc., formerly known as CompoSecure, Inc., amid ongoing legal developments.

Экс-министру связи России Никифорову заочно предъявили обвинение по делу финансовой пирамиды Finiko

Russian authorities have formally charged ex-Minister Nikiforov in absentia over alleged involvement in the Finiko financial pyramid scheme, marking a significant legal development.

Understanding The 19-Day Timeline Of AI Gate Shutdowns

Exploring the recent rapid deployment of AI pre-release regulations across China, the US, and the EU within 19 days, and their implications.