🔍 Read the full analysis: A Closer Look At ChatGPT Pro’s Doubled Limits on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200 ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans on October 29. The change does not double every ChatGPT limit: some chat caps are unchanged, Plus usage did not change, and OpenAI did not specify the size of the Business Premium increase.
OpenAI canceled a planned cut to its $200 ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, the company said in release notes on October 29. The change, effective immediately, also increases usage for Business Premium seats, but OpenAI’s public note does not state by how much. It does not double every ChatGPT limit: the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat caps on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged, and Plus usage is unchanged.
OpenAI’s release note, titled “More Work and Codex usage on Pro and Business Premium Plans,” says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The two products share an allowance, so the added capacity applies to their common usage pool rather than creating separate quotas. OpenAI’s pricing information says ChatGPT Work and Codex use the same pricing, credits and limits.
For Pro 200, the company says it has canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. OpenAI’s updated Pro help page clarifies that the lower allowance doubled to match the higher one. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it; those on the lower allowance receive the increase. The same page says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit on Pro 200 now matches the higher limit. Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged.
Existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal, according to OpenAI’s help page. The company says prices are unchanged. Pro 500 remains the only Pro tier with Ultrafast, the faster speed mode; Pro 100 and Pro 200 do not include it. The report says Business Premium costs $100 per user per month with annual billing or $125 monthly, while Plus costs $20 a month and has no change to its usage allowance.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the New Limits Affect Subscribers
The update changes how much eligible subscribers can use Work and Codex before reaching their shared allowance, while leaving several other plan limits and prices as they were. That distinction matters to people comparing tiers: a larger Work and Codex pool is not the same as doubling all access to ChatGPT models or all message limits. OpenAI’s own help page specifies which limits changed and which did not.
For Pro 200 customers, the reversal means the reduction they had been told would begin on October 30 will not take effect. For Pro 100 and Pro 500 users, the additional allowance may provide more room for work through the two products, but twice the allowance does not necessarily mean twice as many completed tasks. OpenAI says actual usage depends on the model, the task and the speed mode. No specific number of additional tasks or hours is given in the materials.
Businesses face a separate planning issue because the update also covers Business Premium seats, but the company’s release note does not quantify the increase. The source reports that OpenAI staff member Thibault Sottiaux described it as a doubling in a social media post. Until the company supplies a clear figure in its documentation, organizations cannot calculate the added seat capacity from the release note alone. Seat plans and API budgets should also be treated separately: the announcement concerns ChatGPT plan allowances, not a stated change to API pricing or quotas.
Products Worth Considering

Dell UltraSharp 27 Thunderbolt Hub Monitor (U2726DER)

Dell 34-Inch S3425DW Curved WQHD USB-C Monitor

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Change Reversed
The change follows a series of adjustments to OpenAI’s Pro plans. On September 10, the company paused new sign-ups for the $200 plan. TechCrunch reported that Thibault Sottiaux, who posts as Tibo and leads core OpenAI products including Codex, attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model. On September 29, OpenAI reopened the $200 plan, introduced Pro 500 and told affected users that included usage allowances would change while the $200 monthly price remained the same.
In a post that day, Sottiaux described a plan scale in which Plus represented one times the allowance, Pro 100 five times and Pro 200 ten times. He also said existing subscribers would keep a 20-times multiplier “for a bit” and receive additional credits. OpenAI later said in its October 29 release note that it had canceled the Pro 200 reduction. The updated help page explains the outcome: the lower Pro 200 allowance was raised to match the higher one, rather than every Pro 200 subscriber receiving a new doubling on top of what they already had.
The October 29 post by Sottiaux characterized the adjustment as doubling usage limits across Pro tiers and Business Premium. However, the Pro help page gives narrower details and says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits did not change. For specific plan limits, the company’s help page provides the more detailed account, while the release note confirms the central Work and Codex change.
“Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a September post on X, as quoted by TechCrunch
OpenAI confirms that Business Premium usage is increasing but does not give a multiplier or a numerical allowance in the release note. Sottiaux described the change as a doubling, but the company documentation cited in the source does not confirm that figure. The exact Business Premium increase remains unclear.
The source also does not provide the actual allowance quantities for each Pro tier, so the practical capacity added cannot be translated into a count of tasks, coding sessions or hours. OpenAI says consumption varies by model, task and speed mode. It is also not clear from the announcement whether Business Standard, Go or Free plans will receive later changes; those plans are not mentioned in the October 29 notes.
The timing of the current change is clear: OpenAI says it is effective immediately and existing subscribers receive it automatically. But the announcement does not set out a longer-term guarantee that allowances will remain at these levels. The September reversal shows that announced plan allowances can change, though it does not establish whether another change is planned.
Check Plan Details and Usage
Subscribers can review their plan and usage information in ChatGPT and consult OpenAI’s updated Pro help page for the distinctions between Work and Codex allowances and model-specific chat limits. No customer action is required to receive the change, according to OpenAI, and existing subscribers do not need to wait for their next billing date.
Business customers considering seat changes may need to wait for more precise Business Premium documentation before estimating the increase, since OpenAI’s public release note does not give a number. Users comparing plans should also check the stated allowance and limits for the particular tier rather than assuming that every usage cap doubled. The next relevant development would be a more detailed update from OpenAI on Business Premium quantities or any further changes to plan limits; none is specified in the announcement.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT Pro plans received doubled Work and Codex allowances?
OpenAI says the Pro 100 and Pro 500 plans now have twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. For Pro 200, the lower allowance doubled to match the higher one; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it.
Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT limit?
No. OpenAI’s help page says the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged. The lower weekly limit on Pro 200 now matches the higher one. Plus usage is also unchanged.
When do the updated allowances take effect?
OpenAI said the changes took effect on October 29, 2026. Existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.
How much more usage does Business Premium get?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no numerical amount. Thibault Sottiaux described the increase as a doubling in a post, but the company documentation cited in the source does not specify that factor.
Did ChatGPT plan prices change?
The announcement says prices are unchanged. The source lists Pro 100 at $100 per month, Pro 200 at $200, Pro 500 at $500, and Plus at $20. Business Premium is listed at $100 per user monthly with annual billing or $125 monthly.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
